School Management Committee (SMC)

Affiliation Bye-Laws 2018

(Notification Date:-18th October 2018)

School Management Committee (Chapter 8)

CBSE Rules for School Management Committee Mentioned in Affiliation Bye- Laws 2018

CBSE Guidelines for constituting of School Management Committee (SMC)

What is objective of School Management Committee in CBSE schools?

Who can be the member of School Management Committee in CBSE School?

How we can constitute School Management Committee in school?

How to form School Management Committee in CBSE School?

How many members can be included in School Management Committee?

How many members can be included in CBSE Secondary or Senior Secondary School?

What can be tenure of School Management Committee members?

Affiliation Bye-Laws 2018 mentioned clearly on page number (20/69) chapter 8 “School Management Committee” under section 8.1 to 8.3 that:-

Subject to relevant provision in the education Act of the State/UT concerned, every affiliated school should have a scheme of management as per following clauses.

8.1 All the school affiliated with the board shall have a School Management Committee as stipulated in RTE 2009, any other enactment of regulations framed by the State/Appropriate Government.

8.2 Composition of School Management Committee:

8.2.1 The management committee of a recognized school shall consist of not more than fifteen members; and the management committee of a private unaided school shall consist of not more than twenty one members;

However in case of senior secondary schools offering vocational subject additional member(s) (subject expert (s) as per subject offered may be appointed.

8.2.2 Subject to the provisions of clause 8.1 and the total number of members specified in clause 8.2.1, every management committee shall include the following namely:-

(a) The Head of the School. S/he will be a Member Secretory of the School Management Committee;

(b) Two parents of student studying in the school. One father and one mother of students specifically in co-educational schools;

(c) Two teachers of the school;

(d) Two other persons (of whom one shall be woman); who are, or have been teacher, teachers of any other school or of any college, to be nominated by the Trust/Society/Company;

(e) Two members to be nominated by the Board;

(f) The remaining members to be nominated or elected as the case may be, in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Trust/Society/Company running the school

(g) Members may be nominated as per the conditions, if any, laid down in the “No objection Certificate”

(h) At least fifty percent members should be women.

Provided further that the above provisions shall be implemented with immediate effect and the school affiliated earlier and not complying with above provisions shall be required to take remedial measures with suitable qualified substitutes within a year of notification of this byelaw.

8.3 The term of the members of the Management Committee shall be of three years. A member can be re-nominated for another term but a member cannot remain in office for more than two consecutive terms except ex-officio members and the members of the Trust/Society/Company.


Kindly visit CBSE Official Website for more Updates


Rajeev Ranjan

Land Requirement for CBSE Affiliation/Land Ownership Norms for CBSE Affiliation/Affiliation Bye Laws 2018

CBSE Affiliation Norms/Period  of Affiliation Granted for a CBSE School/CBSE Affiliation Bye-Laws 2018

CBSE Affiliation Norms/Essential conditions for affiliation of schools/CBSE Affiliation Bye-Laws 2018

CBSE Affiliation Norms/Categories of Affiliation/Affiliation Bye-Laws 2018